Co-op Blog

Connect with the Co-op: Board Election Results

Thanks to all our member-owners who voted in the 2017 Board Election and to those who attended our Annual Membership Meeting yesterday. We can now announce the winners: Casey Schoenberger (incumbent) and new board member Mike Hackett, replacing longtime member Mariana Foliart. We thank Mariana for her efforts, energy and 33 years of service.

Join us in welcoming a new Non-Voting Staff Member to our Board: Kelsey Beasley. During her 7 years at the Co-op, she has worked throughout the Co-op; you’ve probably seen her smiling face in the checkout line, pouring you a house-brewed cup of coffee, or grabbing you a tasty treat from the deli case. The Board’s Non-Voting Staff Member serves as a liaison between employees and the Board, alongside the Voting Staff Member position currently filled by Ian Taylor Mixon.

2017 Skagit Valley Food Co-op Board Members:

  • Tom Theisen, President
  • Mike Hackett
  • Brad Claypool
  • Rob Smith, Secretary
  • Kristen Ekstran
  • Casey Schoenberger
  • Ian Taylor Mixon, Voting Staff Representative
  • Kelsey Beasley, Non-Voting Staff Representative

Member Input & Board Meetings

The Co-op is a not-for-profit community owned business. Learn more about our Mission, Principle and By-Laws here. Our Board of Directors typically meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:45 am in room 309. Co-op owners are welcome to attend!


By: Claire

ClaireClaire Harlock Garber loves to eat and drink and write about it. She has worked in the food industry for nearly a decade and was on staff at the Skagit Valley Co-op from 2010-2018, writing the regular columns Skagit Brew Corner, The Cheese Whisperer, The Bounty of Bulk, and What's Dippin' in the Well for the Co-op's blog, as well as articles for the Natural Enquirer newsletter.